## SUNY Broome chapter of PTK wins state, international honors

May 5, 2015

SUNY Broome's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) – the honor society for two-year colleges – recently won both international and state honors.

- The Executive Board of Mu Eta, SUNY Broome's PTK leadership council, won the International 2015
   Hallmark Award for the college's 2014 Convocation Day The award acknowledges the efforts of the campus-wide Convocation Day Committee, members of the administration and the Convocation Faculty Scholars. The board also won the 2015 International Hallmark Award for the College Project.
- The Executive Board of Mu Eta, SUNY Broome's PTK leadership council, also won **five New York State Regional 2015 Hallmark Awards** for Distinguished Chapter; Distinguished Chapter Officer Team; College Project; Distinguished Theme for its Honors-in-Action Project; and its Honors-in-Action Project

SUNY Broome's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa also congratulates its officers and executive board members on their 2015 nominations, awards and honors:

- Chapter President **Spencer Nagle:** winner of the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence, nominee for the International Hallmark Award for Outstanding Officer; winner of the Phi Theta Kappa All-New York First Academic Team Award; winner of the New York State Regional Distinguished Chapter Hallmark Award
- Vice President of Leadership **Michelle Brunschmid:** winner of the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence; winner of the Baccalaureate Scholarship; winner of the Phi Theta Kappa All-New York First Academic Team Award
- Vice President of Service **Ashley Cable:** winner of the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence and the Dr. Donald B. Wager Biology Scholarship
- Vice President of Internal Communications **Emily DePalmo:** appointed Graduation Marshal for the Liberal Arts Division
- Vice President of Scholarship **Steven Burnette:** nominee for the International Hallmark Award for Outstanding Officer; winner of the New York State Regional Distinguished Chapter Officer Hallmark Award
- Faculty Adviser for Phi Theta Kappa, Professor **J. Byrnes:** Nominee for the International Hallmark Award for Excellence as a Chapter Adviser



left to right: Emily DePalmo, Delanie Madison, Spencer Nagle, Professor I.J. Byrnes

Officer medals for Excellence in Service and nominations for the International Hallmark Award for Distinguished Chapter Officer Team were awarded to Chapter President **Spencer Nagle**, Vice President of Leadership **Michelle Brunschmid**, Vice President of Service **Ashley Cable**, Vice President of Scholarship **Steven Burnette**, Vice President of Internal Communications **Emily DePalmo**, and Vice President of Finance **Delanie Madison**.

**Professor I.J. Byrnes**, Faculty Adviser to Phi Theta Kappa, would like to congratulate the 2014-15 student officers who lead the campus chapter of the two-year international honor society for their outstanding work, which has earned them Hallmark Awards at the New York State Regional and International levels. Their hard work has also been recognized with scholarships, appointments as graduation marshals and SUNY Chancellor's Awards for Student Excellence.

Professor Byrnes noted that the chapter's receipt of the 2015 Hallmark Award for the College Project must be shared with the administration, the 2014 Convocation Faculty Scholars and the campus-wide Convocation Committee for their extraordinary collaboration on Convocation Day 2014, which this award recognizes.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education, with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Left to right: SUNY Broome President Kevin Drumm, Michelle Brunschmid, Spencer Nagle, Ashley Cable, ZUNY Broome Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer Francis Battisti Filed Under: Focus on Accomplishments

 $\ensuremath{\mathbb{C}}$  2022  $\cdot$  SUNY Broome The Focus: SUNY Broome's Faculty & Staff Newsletter