BCC Foundation to host reception honoring recipients of Presidential Honors Scholarship

October 6, 2015

SUNY Broome President Dr. Kevin Drumm announced the College will host a reception honoring sixteen new recipients of the Presidential Honors Scholarship at **5 p.m., Wednesday, October 7, 2015, in the Klee Center of the Decker Building.**

A record number of 16 recipients were selected and demonstrate great potential to excel both inside and outside of the classroom, become engaged in campus-related activities, and emerge as student leaders. SUNY Broome has become their first choice, as these students are among the best and brightest in the area.

The new recipients are:	<u>High School</u>

Ishaq Ahmad Binghamton High School

Ellen Armstrong Vestal High School

Ashlyn Decker Bainbridge-Guilford High School

Mariah Fredenburg Central Baptist Christian Academy

Scott Gardner Owego Free Academy

Emily Gibson Seton Catholic Central High School

Zane Johnson Spencer Van-Etten High School

Jared Leonard Deposit High School

Ryan McMahon Harpursville High School

Megan Pessarchick Windsor High School

Jacob Rossie Chenango Valley High School

Stella Safari Johnson City High School

Tanner Schunk Sidney High School

Taylor Thomas Chenango Forks High School

Kathryn Wills Binghamton High School

Bryan Ziegler Maine-Endwell High School

There were nearly 70 applicants from Broome, Chenango, Delaware, and Tioga County high schools. The current recipient scholars had completed a rigorous academic curriculum in high school which included AP, Honors, and college coursework.

In addition to graduating in the top 10% of their class, the PHS Scholars, like their predecessors, are very active members in their high schools, and on campus and in their community endeavors (part-time employment, community service, academic clubs, National Honor Society, mentoring/tutoring programs, athletics, etc.).

Start-up funding and on-going support for the Presidential Honors Scholarship Program has been provided by the Conrad and Virginia Klee Foundation and other donors to the BCC Foundation; Estate of Emil Calice, Dr. G. Clifford & Florence B. Decker Foundation, Delta Engineers, William H. Lane, Inc., Lockheed Martin (MS2), M&T Bank, Matco Electric Corporation, Mirabito Holdings, Inc., NBT Bank and NBT-Mang Insurance have also made leadership level commitments to provide full-tuition scholarship support to PHS students. Other supporters include: Chemung Canal Trust Company, Community Bank, N.A., and LeChase Construction Services. The founding donors and corporate sponsors that support these talented and locally focused students to SUNY Broome will be recognized at the event.

If you are a Broome or Tioga County high school senior interested in applying for the next round of Presidential Honors Scholarships or for more information on the program, please contact SUNY Broome's Admissions Office at (607) 778-5001 or the BCC Foundation at (607) 778-5047.

Filed Under: Focus on Accomplishments

© 2022 · SUNY Broome
The Focus: SUNY Broome's Faculty & Staff Newsletter