2021 Presidential Honors Scholars

SUNY Broome will host a reception honoring twelve new recipients of the Presidential Honors Scholarship at 5:00 pm Tuesday, October 19, 2021, in the Klee Center of the Decker Building.

There were more than 40 applicants from Broome, Chenango, Delaware, and Tioga county high schools. The current recipient scholars have completed a rigorous academic curriculum in high school that included AP, IB, Honors, and college coursework. Twelve recipients were selected and demonstrate great potential to excel both inside and outside of the classroom, become engaged in campus-related activities, and emerge as student leaders. These students are among the best and brightest in the area, and SUNY Broome has become their first choice.

The new recipients are:

Jacob Baker – Whitney Point High School
Sean Bronson – Susquehanna Valley High School
Kirsten Cherevko – Vestal High School
Yueqi Diao – Binghamton High School
Ryan Johnson – Johnson City High School
Julia Langton – Maine-Endwell High School
Emma Leonard – Seton Catholic High School
Anthony Morris – Sidney High School
Rayven Slater – Binghamton High School
Damien Terrell – Afton High School
Keira Warwick – Chenango Valley High School
Lauren White – Chenango Forks High School

In addition to graduating in the top 10% of their class, the PHS Scholars, like their predecessors, are very active in their high schools, on campus, and in their community endeavors (part-time employment, community service, academic clubs, National Honor Society, mentoring/tutoring programs, athletics, etc.).

Start-up funding and ongoing support for the Presidential Honors Scholarship Program has been provided by the Conrad and Virginia Klee Foundation and other donors to the Foundation; the Estate of Emil Calice; the Dr. G. Clifford & Florence B. Decker Foundation; Delta Engineers, Architects, & Land Surveyors, DPC; William H. Lane, Inc.; LeChase Construction Services; Lockheed Martin – Owego; Matco Electric Corporation; Mirabito Holdings Inc. and NBT Bank and NBT Insurance Agency have also made leadership level commitments to provide full-tuition scholarship support to PHS students. The founding donors and corporate sponsors that support these talented and locally focused students to SUNY Broome will be recognized at the event.

Graduating senior students from Broome or Tioga County high schools interested in applying for the next round of Presidential Honors Scholarships should contact SUNY Broome’s Admissions Office or the Foundation Office.

Submitted by: BCC Foundation

Tags: ,