Focus on Accomplishments logoRecipients Represent Top Students from Local High Schools

SUNY Broome will host a reception honoring 14 new recipients of the Presidential Honors Scholarship at 5 p.m. Tuesday, October 16, 2018, in the Klee Center of the Decker Building.

There were just over 30 applicants from Broome, Chenango, Delaware and Tioga county high schools. The current recipient scholars have completed a rigorous academic curriculum in high school that included AP, Honors, and college coursework. Fourteen recipients were selected and demonstrate great potential to excel both inside and outside of the classroom, become engaged in campus-related activities, and emerge as student leaders. These students are among the best and brightest in the area, and SUNY Broome has become their first choice.

The new recipients are:                                    High School
Natalie Braman                                                Owego Free Academy

Lilliana Ivasyuk                                                Johnson City High School

Elisa Faughnan                                                Seton Catholic Central High School

Hannah Grunder                                              Chenango Valley High School

Haley Jensen                                                    Binghamton High School

Catherine Kilmer                                              Maine Endwell High School

Logan Linkroum                                            Harpursville High School

Abigail Mancini                                                Union Endicott High School

Matthew Pecha                                                Chenango Valley High School

Kelly Perry                                                       Whitney Point High School

Morgan Richards                                             Whitney Point High School

Anastasia Rusnak                                             Chenango Forks High School

Gloria Stracquadanio                                       Greene High School

Bogdan Yurkiv                                                 Vestal High School


In addition to graduating in the top 10% of their class, the PHS Scholars, like their predecessors, are very active in their high schools, on campus and in their community endeavors (part-time employment, community service, academic clubs, National Honor Society, mentoring/tutoring programs, athletics, etc.).

Start-up funding and ongoing support for the Presidential Honors Scholarship Program has been provided by the Conrad and Virginia Klee Foundation and other donors to the BCC Foundation; the Estate of Emil Calice; the Dr. G. Clifford & Florence B. Decker Foundation; Delta Engineers, Architects, & Land Surveyors, P.C.; William H. Lane, Inc.; LeChase Construction Services; Lockheed Martin – Owego; M&T Bank; Matco Electric Corporation; Mirabito Holdings Inc. and NBT Bank and NBT-Mang Insurance Agency have also made leadership level commitments to provide full-tuition scholarship support to PHS students. Community Bank, N.A. also provides generous support for the program. The founding donors and corporate sponsors that support these talented and locally focused students to SUNY Broome will be recognized at the event.

Graduating senior students from Broome or Tioga County high schools interested in applying for the next round of Presidential Honors Scholarships should contact SUNY Broome’s Admissions Office at (607) 778-5001 or the BCC Foundation at (607) 778-5047.  One award supports a student that graduated from Sidney, Bainbridge, Afton or Unadilla school districts.